Search All Traveloscopy Sites

Friday, June 17, 2011

AHA (NSW) Accommodation Awards for Excellence Winners List

Hilton Hotel Sydney

The Hilton Sydney scooped the pool at the 14th Annual AHA (NSW) Accommodation Awards For Excellence last night, winning seven awards in the Hotel Achievement and People Award categories.

Sheraton on the Park also won four awards – including the coveted induction into the Hall of Fame for Function Venue of the Year, while the Shangri-La Hotel Sydney won the prestigious Deluxe Hotel Accommodation of the year Award.

More than 450 political, business and community leaders – including NSW Premier Barry O’Farrell – filled the ballroom at the Westin, Sydney for the glittering Awards Ceremony.

A total of 32 awards were presented to winners from a field of more than 140 finalists.

AHA (NSW) Accommodation Division Chair Peter Tudehope said the industry had excelled itself on its night of nights.

“To see so many political and business leaders out in force supporting our accommodation industry is an achievement in itself,” he said.

“There’s no doubt the annual AHA (NSW) Accommodation Awards For Excellence is the highlight of the industry’s social calendar - we can see from the high quality of all the finalists that the accommodation industry is the real winner here.

“I would like to congratulate all winners in each of the categories – they really are world-class venues staffed by the best in the business.”

Key winners include:

· Hilton Sydney: Seven Awards including Outstanding Achievement in Training, Apprentice/Trainee Employee of the Year (Carol Nazha), Chef of the Year (Gary Johnson) and Employee Excellence in Service (Mamdoh Kiriakos).

· Sheraton on the Park: Four Awards including Hall of Fame Function Venue of the Year, Occupational Health and Safety Hotel of the Year and Front of House Employee of the Year (Evan Burns).

· Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Sydney: Two Awards including Restaurant of the Year (Bilson’s) and Housekeeper of the Year (Maureen Jolowicz).

· Bayview Boulevard Sydney: Outstanding Community Service and Achievement.

· Hunter Valley Steakhouse, Mercure Hunter Valley: Regional Restaurant of the Year.

· Loxley, Bellbird Hill: Hall of Fame Inductee: Regional Mid-Range Accommodation Hotel of the Year.

· Four Points by Sheraton: Superior Hotel Accommodation of the Year.

· Lillianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa: Regional Deluxe Hotel Accommodation of the Year.

AHA (NSW) CEO Sally Fielke said the Awards night gala capped off a big year for the accommodation industry.

“We have seen a new Board chairman elected in Peter Tudehope as well as the establishment of Tourism Accommodation Australia – the nation’s peak accommodation body.

“There are great things ahead for the industry and I think we can see that by the calibre of tonight’s winners.”

No comments:

The Expeditionist

The Expeditionist
Venturing to the world's special places